Airlift from SA fades to 38%

with No Comments

According to a recent update from Barsa, only 12 of its 32 international airline members that usually offer flights out of South Africa are currently operating and permitting South African passengers to travel on them.

These figures highlight the seriousness of the international travel bans imposed against South Africa which have resulted in a 62% reduction in air connectivity options for South African travellers.


The airlines that are operating flights and that are permitting traffic originating in South Africa to fly on them are listed below. Some of these airlines permit boarding of travellers from SA only under particular circumstances.

1.     Air Botswana

2.     Air France

3.     Air Mozambique (LAM)

4.     EgyptAir

5.     Ethiopian Airlines

6.     Fastjet

7.     Kenya Airways

8.     Lufthansa

9.     Proflight Zambia

10.  Qatar Airways

11.  Turkish Airlines

12.  El Al


The airlines that are not operating or are not permitting travellers to board in SA, are as follows:

1.     Air Austral

2.     Air Mauritius – only cargo

3.     Air Namibia

4.     Air Seychelles

5.     Alitalia

6.     British Airways

7.     Cathay Pacific

8.     Delta Air Lines

9.     Emirates – suspension of passenger uplift from South Africa

10.  Etihad

11.  KLM – only Dutch nationals and EU residents allowed

12.  Latam

13.  Qantas

14.  RwandAir

15.  SAA

16.  Saudi Arabian Airlines

17.  Singapore Airlines – SQ only carrying Singapore citizens or permanent residents on outbound flights

18.  Swiss

19.  TAAG

20.  Virgin Atlantic

Original Article Posted on SA Travel News